The Southwest Center for Arithmetic Geometry

About the Southwest Center for Arithmetic Geometry

Email Address:


The Southwest Center for Arithmetic Geometry was founded in 1997 with funding from an NSF Group Infrastructure Grant by seven mathematicians working in the southwest: Alex Buium, Minhyong Kim, Bill McCallum, Wayne Raskind, Dinesh Thakur, Doug Ulmer, and Felipe Voloch. They were joined in 2002 by Michael Nakamaye, Bjorn Poonen, and Fernando Rodriguez-Villegas, and in 2006 by Matt Papanikolas, David Savitt, and William Stein. The current directors are Matt Papanikolas, Rachel Pries, David Savitt, Dinesh Thakur and Fernando Rodriguez-Villegas. The Center is funded by the National Science Foundation.

The most important activity of the center is the annual Arizona Winter School, held in March at the University of Arizona.

The Arizona Winter School

The Arizona Winter School is an intensive five-day meeting where advanced graduate students work closely with senior faculty and post-docs. In contrast to a typical conference where individual researchers present their work in relative isolation, the AWS features a small number of extended courses on a set of closely related topics. We go to great lengths to ensure significant interaction among all participants, especially between students and the senior lecturers. For example, each speaker is assigned a group of students who work with him or her on a project during the Winter School and students typically present the results of their project in a lecture at the end of the meeting. To facilitate work on the projects, speakers and students meet for evening working sessions. Many participants describe the AWS as a highly intense and productive experience.

We have written a Guide for participants, both speakers and students.

Other Activities

The Center has sponsored a number of distinguished lectures series and more information and notes about these lectures are available. The grant also provides summer support for graduate students, travel support, and computers, including the server that hosts this site. Travel funding from the grant supported an AMS special session on “Results from the Arizona Winter School” in January 2001 in New Orleans.

The Directors of the Center

The Southwest Center has one Principal Investigator and four co-Principal Investigators. They are:

Matt Papanikolas (Texas A&M University, co-PI)
Rachel Pries (Colorado State University, co-PI)
Fernando Rodriguez-Villegas (University of Texas, Austin, co-PI)
David Savitt (University of Arizona, PI)
Dinesh Thakur (University of Arizona, co-PI)

Acknowledgment and Disclaimer

Some of the material on this web site is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grants 9709662 and 0207478 and 0602287. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.